Considering Androids

Considering Androids

Postby jshenry1963 » Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:55 am

I have a very very trustworthy good usable LG600G that is slowly reaching it's end of life.
I am considering getting one of the new android phones.
I'm a texter, I will browse once in a while so I can turn off 3g when desired.
I might connect up via wifi when possible, but will most likely run with wifi turned off.
Bluetooth, same thing, will probably not use a bluetooth headset, but may want to use it sometimes, but 99% of the time, like wifi, it will be turned off normally.
I don't use a lot of minutes each month, and I probably won't update facebook or gmail from it. Never know.
I do want to use a decent GPS navigation module when traveling. But it won't be on unless I need it.
My options in my area are the
HUAWEI Ascend II -
Do the apps come from the play.google? or are they getjar? or can I also write and download my own? (I am a software developer, just new to what Net10 offers)
LG Optimus Black -
to me, a bit pricey, but seems like a good mid to high end android phone.
LG Optimus Q -
Might work, but might still be a bit pricey for my own desire.
LG Optimus Net -
Price is good, but is it fast enough to handle my normal type of use? (I'll describe it in a second later)
LG 800G -
This is a possible, but I assume it is only apps from getjar. Can I load my own?

I know others have gone through the same thing, which one to get, and why.
So, anyone have any good comments on which one they chose, and how well it worked for them?
Also, from Net10, I would like to know if I can load my own written apps into the phones? or if I can download others than just getjar or play.google apps.

I don't really want to spend more than $150 for the phone itself, so, that probably knocks out a couple of the LG Optimus's.
Other brands than LG that I should really consider in my area? (East TN).

Thanks in advance,
John
jshenry1963

Re: Considering Androids